Is pudding gluten free? The answer is typically yes, when taking instant Jell-O brand pudding into consideration as well as making delicious homemade pudding is concerned.
But being sure that it gluten free can be key when you or someone who gathers around your table requires gluten free dietary restrictions. You’ll want to be sure.
What is Pudding Made of?
What pudding is made of varies based on the recipe. Pudding consists of a basic flavor, a thickening agent, liquid which is usually milk, and a few other ingredients that are considered vital to the outcome of the dish.
Pudding flavors can vary and can include flavors such as:
Is Pudding Gluten Free?
Most boxed instant pudding is gluten free. Most of the prepared mixes including Jell-O brand, mixes are safe for those who require a gluten free diet. But be sure to read labels carefully and call the company to find out if you’re unsure.
When is Pudding Not Gluten Free?
Homemade pudding is not gluten free when it’s made with ingredients that aren’t gluten free or comes into contact with ingredients that aren’t gluten free.
The same is true for instant pudding mixes. When they contain ingredients that aren’t gluten free or come into contact with gluten in some way, they’re unsafe for those who require gluten free diets to consume.
Jell-O Instant Cheesecake Pudding & Pie Filling Contains Gluten
Though we’ve stated that most Jell-O brand instant pudding is gluten free, you’ll want to know that their cheesecake pudding and pie filling both contain gluten.
So, if your dietary restrictions require gluten free eating, you’ll want to avoid both of those products
What Makes this the Best Gluten Free Pudding Recipe?
When making our recipe below, you’ll find that what makes it the best is the ingredients that are used. It is one that’s so rich and creamy and you’re sure to enjoy it.
What Type of Chocolate is Best for this Gluten Free Pudding Mix?
If you’re making our delicious recipe below and want to use the best chocolate, we recommend baking powder such as HERSHEY’S Cocoa, Dutch processed cocoa, or natural cocoa powder.
And as far as the chocolate chips that are melted into the pudding, you can use whatever you have on hand, your favorite brand.
Chocolate chip flavors such as dark chocolate, semi-sweet chocolate, milk chocolate, or white chocolate can be used.
How to Make Gluten Free Chocolate Pudding
Following are our step-by-step instructions for how to make rich and creamy gluten free chocolate pudding.
1 1/3 cup sugar
6 tablespoons cornstarch
1/2 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
1/2 teaspoons salt
4 1/2 cups milk
8 egg yolks (optional, for richer pudding)
4 tablespoons butter or margarine
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
6 ounces chocolate chips (optional)
1. In a large saucepan, mix sugar, cornstarch, cocoa powder, and salt.
2. Pour in a small amount of milk. Whisk until well combined and smooth.
3. Add egg yolks if desired and whisk until mixed.
4. Place saucepan over medium heat, stirring constantly.
5. Bring to a boil, then boil for 1 minute, until mixture begins to thicken. Remove from heat.
6. Add butter, vanilla, and optional chocolate chips. Stir until melted.
7. Stir while warm, or chill and serve. Top with whipped topping if desired. Enjoy!
Frequently Asked Questions
Following are frequently asked questions that relate to the question, is pudding gluten free. If you have a question that’s not answered here, please feel free to drop it in the comments box below and we’ll be happy to answer it.
What’s the perfect gluten free item to serve with gluten free pudding?
There are several possibilities of items to serve with gluten free pudding. Here are some ideas:
Gf Vanilla wafers
How do I make smooth pudding, without lumps?
Let’s face it, no one wants their pudding to turn out lumpy. So how do you go about making it without it turning out lumpy?
When making a box of Jell-O, whisk together just 1/2 cup of the milk, making it completely smooth, before adding the rest. This will help to eliminate any lumps right from the start.
Is Jell-O Instant Pudding Gluten-Free?
Yes, most Jell-O brand instant boxes are gluten free. However, you should always read the list of ingredients and call the company if there is any uncertainty.
Other instant brands may or may not be gluten free. When dietary restrictions are important, be sure to do a thorough check of ingredients before consuming pudding that you’re uncertain of.
How do you make gluten free pudding with cornstarch?
To make gluten free pudding with cornstarch, be sure to follow our step-by-step recipe above. And when working with cornstarch, there’s a tendency for lumps to form.
To avoid this, whisk the cornstarch with a small amount of liquid first before adding the remainder of the liquid.
Why should you make gluten free pudding with milk?
Making it with milk gives a nice rich and creamy flavor. Any pudding made with milk, or a milk substitute will be richer than pudding made with water.
How can I make this pudding sugar free?
The sugar in our recipe above is mainly for sweetener but it also helps to add a bit of bulk to the recipe. You can try using your favorite one to one sugar replacement as a substitute for sugar, making it sugar free.
Other Pudding Recipes:
Tasty Banana Pudding Brownies
Amazing Hershey’s Chocolate Pudding
Senor Rico Rice Pudding
Patti Labelle Banana Pudding Recipe
Eggnog Bread Pudding Bites with Maple Blueberry Sauce
Save to Pinterest
For more posts like this one, follow us on Pinterest, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.