Are Fries Gluten Free


Gluten free diets are becoming more popular. Some follow these dietary guidelines by choice, while others follow these eating habits out of necessity and health problems.  When eating a gluten free diet, one of the most popular questions is are fries gluten free?

We’ll teach you how you know whether they are, ingredients to watch out for, as well as restaurants and brands that make them well.

french fries with seasoning
french fries with seasoning

Do French Fries Have Gluten?

What are French fries made of? French fries are traditionally made from sliced potatoes.  And sliced potatoes in and of themselves are naturally gluten free.

However, some restaurants and some brands serve French fries that are not gluten free because they’ve added ingredients such as flavoring or other ingredients that will alter the texture or consistency.

The answer to the question, “are fries gluten free” is it depends.  It depends on the brand, the ingredients used to make them, and whether they’re cooked in a designated fryer.

We’ll help you know how to determine whether they’re gluten free.

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a family of protein found in grains such as wheat, barley, rye, and titicale. The protein helps foods to maintain their shapes and acts as the glue to hold it all together.

crinkle cut fries
crinkle cut fries

Health Risks of Gluten

Gluten can be a health risk for those who are sensitive or intolerant to it. Following is a list of potential ailments that can arise in someone’s body who doesn’t process or tolerate gluten well.

Celiac disease
Gluten sensitivity
Wheat allergy
Irritable bowel

If you have any of these problems, you should consult your doctor.

Who Has Gluten Free French Fries?

From time to time many people enjoy the convenience of eating out.  If you’re someone who requires the dietary restrictions of a gluten free diet, you’ll likely want to know where you can get gluten free fries.

The following restaurants offer gluten-free French fries:


Five Guys

Honest Burger

Hopdoddy Burger

In-n-Out Burger


Red Robin


Ted’s Montana Grill

french fries with tomato sauce
french fries with tomato sauce

Even though these restaurants with gluten free French fries, you’ll still want to double check the ingredient list to be sure because restaurants change their processes and ingredients from time to time.

Leave us a comment in the box below if you know of a restaurant that has gluten free fries.

Avoid Ordering Fries at These Restaurants

French fries served at these restaurants are not gluten free, as most use a shared fryer or contain additives that contain gluten.



Burger King






Shake Shack



White Castle

fries and ketchup
fries and ketchup

Brands of Frozen Gluten-Free French Fries

Thinking about cooking fries at home? It can be a great way to eat healthier as well as know what ingredients you’re consuming.

When shopping for brands of frozen gluten free French fries, you’ll want to be sure to read ingredient labels, and consider baking them or cooking in an Air Fryer for a healthier alternative.

What About Privately Labeled Store Brands?

Purchasing privately labeled store brands can be a great way to capture savings as well as eat delicious food.

Be sure to read the packaging label to. Determine whether your store brand of frozen fries are gluten friendly.

Are ‘Alexia Foods’ French Fries Gluten Free?

Yes, Alexia all natural sweet potato French fries are gluten free.

Are ‘Cascadian Farms’ French Fries Gluten Free?

Yes, Cascadian Farms premium organic crinkle cut French fries are naturally gluten free.

Are ‘Grown in Idaho’ French Fries Gluten Free?

No, the brand of Grown in Idaho fries are not certified gluten free.

Are ‘McCain’s’ French Fries Gluten Free?

Though McCain’s French Fries are not certified gluten free, they indicate on their website’s FAQs that they will openly disclose any gluten containing ingredients on their product packaging.

Are ‘Ore-Ida‘ French Fries Gluten Free?

Yes, the brand Ore-Ida creates many French fry and potato products that are labeled gluten free. Be sure to look for this information on the packaging.

are fries gluten free
french fries with tomato sauce

Are Sweet Potato Fries Gluten Free?

Some brands of sweet potato fries are gluten free. Watch for ingredient information and make sure they’re cooked in a dedicated fryer.

Can I Eat French Fries on a Gluten Free Diet? 

Yes, you can eat some brands and some restaurants serve them. You’ll want to know that even if the contents are gluten free, they are not safe to eat when the restaurant uses a shared fryer due to potential contamination from other products that are fried in the same space.

When Are French Fries Not Gluten Free?

French fries are not gluten free when they’ve had ingredients added to them that contains gluten, or they’re not cooked in a designated fryer. 

How Are Frozen French Fries Made

Frozen French fries are processed by being washed, peeled, and cut. Then they’re blanched in batches to make them slightly soft.

After that, any water is removed, and the fries are flash frozen. Finally, they are packaged.

How Do I Know If Frozen French Fries Have Gluten?

To know if frozen French fries contain gluten, you’ll want to check the packaging label and look for any gluten containing ingredients.

You can also check to see if the label indicates that the product is certified gluten free.

are waffle fries gluten free
waffle fries

7 Tips to Avoid Cross-Contamination with Wheat

Following are our top tips for how to avoid cross contamination with wheat when preparing foods.

At Home, in Your Kitchen

Keep all surfaces clean and use a designated space for preparing gluten free items. Don’t share cooking utensils, pots and pans, or cutting boards etc between gluten containing items and items that need to be kept clear of gluten.

Grocery Shopping

We don’t recommend purchasing foods from bulk bins or similar situations where there’s potential for contamination to take place.

While Cooking

While cooking, be careful not to share cooking spaces or utensils as this will contaminate the food.   

Dining Out

When dining out, check with your server for a gluten free menu. Ask about food preparation and a designated space for food preparation and cooking.

Purchasing Ingredients

When shopping for ingredients, be sure to read packaging labels to see if the items are safe for consumption and your dietary restrictions.

Try Different Recipes

Look for recipes that are specific to gluten free eating. There are so many options available online, and don’t be afraid to try something new. 

Choose Where You Eat

Carefully consider where you eat, especially when going out to eat. Perhaps you’ll want to do advance research to check menu items and the ingredients that are used to make them.

Health Risks of Overeating French Fries:

When eating French fries, there can be a temptation to overeat them because they taste good and they can be addictive. Here is a list of some of the risks of eating too many.

Can upset the stomach

Not good for brain health

Can affect the immune system

Increase the risk of heart disease

Makes you gain weight

Frequently Asked Questions

Following are frequently asked questions that relate to are fries gluten free. If you have a question that’s not answered here, feel free to drop it to us using the comments box below and we’ll be happy to answer it.

What fries are not gluten-free?

French fries that don’t contain gluten are usually made with flavoring or texture additive that makes them not gluten free, because potatoes are naturally without gluten.

Are McDonald’s fries gluten-free?

McDonald’s fries are not safe to eat on a gluten free diet as they use a shared fryer which causes contamination.

If you’re on a strict no gluten diet, we don’t recommend eating McDonald’s French fries.

Are fried potatoes gluten-free?

Plain potatoes that are fried using any standard oil such as peanut oil are naturally gluten free.

The best way to ensure that they are is to make them at home where ingredients and the cooking environment can be controlled.

Which fast food has gluten-free fries?

There are a few fast-food restaurant chains that serve gluten free fries.

Those restaurants include, Chick-fil-A, Five Guys, Honest Burger, Hopdoddy Burger, In-n-Out Burger, Larkburger, Red Robin, Sonic, and Ted’s Montana Grill.

Who has gluten free French fries?

Along with fast food restaurant chains that serve gluten free fries, there are some other options for getting your French fry fix.

Several frozen food brands supply gluten free fries as well. Or you can make them homemade. Be sure to carefully read the packaging label when buying foods to be sure that they fit within your dietary restrictions.

Is there gluten in French fries?

French fries are made from potatoes.  And potatoes are naturally gluten free. French fries that aren’t are ones that have been altered because of added ingredients for flavoring or texture.

And as is the case with some fast-food joints, their fries are naturally gluten free but they’re fried in a shared fryer which compromises them and the assumption is made that they no longer qualify.

What junk food is gluten free?

There are several junk food options that are gluten free.  Some brands of chips, crackers, pretzels, cheese curls, popcorn, cookies, and candy bars are naturally gluten free, while other brands produce certified gluten free products. Be sure to read packaging labels to be sure that the product is gluten free.

Other Ideas:

Red Robin Parmesan Fries Recipe
Different Kinds of Fries
Frozen Sweet Potato Fries in Air Fryer
Chicken Fries in Air Fryer
Red Skin Potato Fries Recipe

Save to Pinterest:

are fries gluten free pinterest pin
are fries gluten free pinterest pin

For more posts like this one, follow us on PinterestFacebookInstagram and YouTube.

Photo of author
Sarah is known for her extra fancy yeast breads, melt in your mouth pies, and everything salads. She has won awards as a home cook, and is passionate about helping others feel smarter in the kitchen. Sarah is the cooking genius of the sister duo.

Leave a Comment