Is Ranch Dressing Gluten Free


Is ranch dressing gluten free? Your wonderful creamy ranch dressing is usually available as gluten-free. But it gets tricky. For example, Hidden Valley makes both Original Ranch and Original Ranch Light gluten-free, but Organic Ranch is not gluten free. Always check the label!

homemade gluten free ranch
homemade gluten free ranch

Safe Gluten-Free Salad Dressing Brands

If your dietary restrictions require you to use gluten free salad dressing, below are brands that make gluten free ranch salad dressing. 

Hidden Valley
Primal Kitchen
Newman’s Own
Drew’s Organics

We recommend reading the ingredient labels to be sure that the specific flavor you’re interested in is indeed gluten free.

Warning Signs That Salad Dressing Contains Gluten

Does Ranch Have Gluten? Yes, some brands and flavors do contain gluten. You’ll want to be careful to do thorough research to know if your salad dressing contains gluten. Here are some purposes of dressing containing gluten.

For thickening. Some salad dressings, such as creamy salad dressings like Ranch, French, or Caesar use gluten containing ingredients to help thicken the mixture.

For flavor. Ranch and other salad dressings can contain gluten for added flavor.

For filler ingredients. Gluten containing ingredients can also be used in products to act as filler ingredients.

ranch ingredients
ranch ingredients

How to Identify Hidden Gluten

If you’re not sure whether food contains gluten, there are some ways you can find out. First you can watch for our list of gluten containing ingredients shown below. If you’re still uncertain, here is how you can take it one step further.

Look at website FAQs. Search for the company’s frequently asked questions page on their website. Usually, gluten free products are listed there. 

Watch for labels gluten free. If the company is known for its gluten free product, it might be labeled as such so that consumers are aware. Watch for gluten free labels.

Contact company directly. If you’re still not sure, you can contact the company directly using their toll-free number to ask whether the product contains gluten.

Gluten-Containing Ingredients

Let’s admit it. Knowing whether your favorite salad dressing contains gluten can be tricky. The best way to find out is to read ingredient labels and watch for the following key indicators that would indicate the salad dressing contains gluten.

malt flavoring
wheat protein
modified food starch

pouring ranch
pouring ranch

How to Make Your Own Ranch, Gluten Free

Following are our step-by-step instructions for how to make homemade ranch dressing.


2 parts mayo
1 part buttermilk
1 part sour cream
lemon juice
garlic powder
salt to taste


Mix the ingredients together in a mixing bowl. Add herbs to taste. Transfer to a jar with a lid or an airtight container. Store in the refrigerator.

ranch dressing whisk
ranch dressing whisk

Why Make Homemade Ranch Dressing?

There are a few reasons why one might choose to make homemade ranch dressing. Some of those reasons are as follows.

To accommodate dietary restrictions
To create a healthier alternative
To add custom ingredients
To enjoy fresher flavor
To save a trip to the store

Whatever your reason, we trust that your homemade ranch experience will be a delicious one.

What kind of salad dressing is gluten-free?

Generally speaking, salad dressings that are vinaigrette based or Italian dressings are gluten free. However, we recommend always checking the labels to confirm.

ranch sauce
ranch sauce

Frequently Asked Questions

Following are frequently asked questions that relate to is ranch dressing gluten free. If you have a question that’s not answered here, please drop it to us in the comments box below and we’ll be happy to answer it.

Is Panera at Home Fuji Apple Dressing Gluten Free?

Yes, current ingredients indicate Panera Fuji Apple Dressing is gluten free.

Is Olive Garden Italian Dressing Gluten Free? 

Yes, Olive Garden Italian Dressing is gluten free.

Is Annie’s French Dressing Gluten Free?

Yes, the Annie’s brand of French Dressing is gluten free.

Do you need sour cream in ranch dressing?

Our gluten free ranch dressing recipe calls for sour cream. If you want a dairy free option, you’ll want to research dairy free alternatives for sour cream.

How do I make BBQ ranch dressing?

Dried BBQ flavoring can be added to ranch dressing to make it BBQ flavored.

Why is homemade ranch dressing better?

Whether homemade ranch dressing is better is a matter of personal preference. We tend to think that anything homemade is better. Because the ingredients are fresh and the product eliminates preservatives, making it healthier.

Why is ranch not gluten-free?

Some brands of ranch salad dressing can be found in gluten free. However, ranch that is not gluten-free typically contains gluten for purposes such as adding a thickener or product filler.

What kind of salad dressings are gluten-free?

Generally speaking, salad dressings that don’t require a thickening agent such as Italian dressings and vinaigrettes are gluten free. However, you’ll want to check any ingredient labels to be sure.

Is Hidden Valley Ranch gluten-free?

Yes, the original Hidden Valley Ranch flavor is gluten free.

Do some salad dressings have gluten?

Yes, many salad dressings use gluten containing ingredients. Things to watch for on ingredient labels are wheat, barley, and rye.

Other Ideas:

Is pudding gluten free?

is ranch gluten free Pinterest Pin
is ranch gluten free Pinterest Pin

For more posts like this one, follow us on PinterestFacebookInstagram and YouTube.

Photo of author
Sarah is known for her extra fancy yeast breads, melt in your mouth pies, and everything salads. She has won awards as a home cook, and is passionate about helping others feel smarter in the kitchen. Sarah is the cooking genius of the sister duo.

Leave a Comment

Recipe Rating