Ghirardelli Peppermint Bark Gluten Free

Share:

Homemade Ghirardelli peppermint bark gluten free is a wonderful gift to give to neighbors and friends for Valentine’s Day, Christmastime, or any time. Most everyone loves chocolate and topping it with crushed peppermint adds a visual dimension that is attractive and special. Chocolate and peppermint go great together, and they’re both naturally gluten free.

Peppermint Bark

Ghirardelli Chocolate Squares Peppermint Bark

Our homemade recipe is a combination of the classic Ghirardelli chocolate squares and peppermint bark. If you want to make chocolate squares, you’ll likely need a chocolate mold to accomplish the shape. But if you’re okay with it turning into random bark shapes, then go ahead and follow our directions to pour the melted chocolate onto a prepared baking sheet.

Ghirardelli Peppermint Bark Chocolate Squares are Gluten Free

For someone who requires a gluten free diet, eating foods that are gluten free is very important. We understand that. And the great thing about this recipe is that most chocolate bars are naturally gluten free as are peppermint candy canes. So, you don’t have to look too far to find ingredients that will work and you don’t have to do anything special to make the gluten free aspect happen. It just does, naturally.  

Contains

Below we have included a list of chocolate bars that are naturally gluten free, if that is a dietary restriction for yourself or the recipient of your Ghirardelli Peppermint Bark Gluten Free. Basic chocolate does not naturally contain gluten.

Is Ghirardelli Gluten Free?

Most Ghirardelli chocolate is gluten free. The light chocolate, milk chocolate, dark chocolate, white chocolate and caramel inside is all gluten free. If you look at some of the modified Ghirardelli chocolate such as ones that have cookie bits added into the chocolate, those of course would not be gluten free because the cookies are made with wheat flour and then they’re mixed into the chocolate.  

Almost-Famous Peppermint Bark

Back in 1999, the powers that be at Williams-Sonoma were trying to come up with a gift idea for their food gift selection and used peppermint bark. As time went on, the candy quickly gained popularity and was produced by several companies. Today, food bloggers still produce posts and recipes for the all famous peppermint bark, and modify it for perfection and enjoyment by all who consume it.

Chocolate Substitutions

If you’re in the middle of baking something and you don’t have time to run to the store, but you realized you don’t have chocolate, there are a few substitutes that might work. You might try using 1 ounce of unsweetened chocolate and mixing that with 1 tablespoon of sugar for sweeter recipes. Or 1 ounce chopped. Sweet baking chocolate, dark chocolate, or milk chocolate.

Ghirardelli Dark Chocolate Peppermint Squares

By using chocolate molds and dark chocolate, you can make Ghirardelli dark chocolate peppermint squares. Use our recipe below, along with some dark chocolate and pour it into square candy molds.

Peppermint Bark

Chocolate Storage & Care

After you make your delicious gluten free Ghirardelli Peppermint Bark, you’ll want to store and care for it well so that it remains in good quality. To do so, we suggest tightly wrapping it or placing it in an airtight container and keeping it in a cool dry place at 60-75F degrees. It’s also important to keep your chocolate away from extreme temperature fluctuations.

Ghirardelli Peppermint Bark Dark Chocolate Bar

The fun part about making chocolate peppermint bark at home is that. you can be creative and use whatever flavor of chocolate you’d like. For example, you might choose to use all dark chocolate or all white chocolate or a mixture of your favorites and use it as a holiday candy Christmas gift.

Easy Four Ingredient Peppermint Bark Recipe

Our peppermint bark recipe is easy to make with just four ingredients. You’ll need two kinds of chocolate, peppermint extract and of course a good source of candy canes.

What Are The Ingredients For Peppermint Bark?

To make peppermint bark you’ll need peppermint extract, good quality semisweet chocolate, good quality white chocolate and crushed candy canes. If you want the outcome of your peppermint bark to be authentic, you might choose to use the Ghirardelli brand chocolates to make the bark.

How To Crush Candy Canes

There are many ways you can crush candy canes. I like to do them manually by placing them inside a zipped freezer bag and then using a hammer to pound them until they’re finely crushed.

If you have a blender or a food processor, you might prefer to crush your candy canes using one of these appliances. Just pulse them a few times until they’ve reached the desired consistency.

How Do You Make Peppermint Bark In The Microwave?

Our recipe below gives instructions for making peppermint bark in a double boiler pan on the stovetop. But if you prefer to work with the microwave, that’s just fine. To make the peppermint bark in the microwave, you can melt the chocolate in 15-20 second intervals, stirring it regularly until it’s smooth and then pour it on to parchment paper and let set, but not harden. Melt white chocolate pour over dark chocolate, add crushed peppermint on top of the white chocolate right away and let set until fully hardened.

How Long Does Peppermint Bark Keep For?

Homemade Ghirardelli peppermint bark will keep for 1-2 weeks in an airtight container at room temperature. Good chocolate is best if it is not frozen which can compromise its quality.

Is Ghirardelli Chocolate Gluten Free?

Yes, their plain chocolate whether flavored dark, light, milk or white is all naturally gluten free.

Ghirardelli Holiday Bark 4 Ways: Peppermint Bark

Hypothetically speaking, there are several ways you can make this recipe with different flavor variations. Here are some ideas:

Dark chocolate and white chocolate with peppermint
All white chocolate, with a layer dyed red, topped with peppermint
Dark chocolate layer and a milk chocolate layer, topped with crushed peppermint
All milk chocolate, topped with peppermint and drizzled with white chocolate

Q&A : Chocolate Questions and Answers

Following are some questions and answers as they relate to the content in this post.

Is There Gluten in Ghirardelli Chocolate Squares?

No, the ingredients used do not content any gluten.

Are Ghirardelli Products non-GMO?

Yes, you will be pleased to know that Ghirardelli products are non-GMO certified.

Do You Use Peanut/Tree Nuts In The Manufacturing of Your Products?

We don’t use peanuts or tree nuts in our homemade Ghirardelli peppermint bark.  If you like nuts, you can add crushed nuts on top as another wonderful additional element.

What is the Gelatin Source?

Gelatin is no longer used in Ghirardelli chocolate products.

What is the Caffeine Level in Your Products?

Chocolate has very little caffeine compared to coffee and tea. Chocolate can be considered a lower source of caffeine.

Can You Make Limited Editions Year-Round?

The Ghirardelli limited edition chocolates are only available for certain times during the year. The Christmas chocolates are only available at Christmastime and the Valentines chocolates at Valentines time and so on.  If you want to have a limited edition at an off time, the best solution would be to make it homemade.

Where Do Our Cocoa Beans Come From?

If you’re using Ghirardelli, the cocoa beans are Forastero beans from Ghana, Africa.

Which Chocolate Bars Are Gluten-Free?

Most brands of chocolate bars are gluten free.

Is Ghirardelli Chocolate Peppermint Bark Gluten-free?

Yes, the store-bought stuff is gluten free as well as our recipe for homemade peppermint bark. Since the ingredients consist of chocolate and peppermint, if you’re someone who requires a gluten free diet, you’re good to go with this one.

Peppermint Bark

Does Ghirardelli Milk Chocolate Caramel Have Gluten?

Ghirardelli milk chocolate caramel does not include gluten containing ingredients.

Does Lindt Chocolate Have Gluten?

Lindt chocolate has ingredients that contain gluten. It is not gluten free because it has cereal and barley ingredients. Someone who requires a gluten free diet will not want to consume Lindt chocolates.

Is Ghirardelli Sea Salt Soiree gluten-free?

Yes, Ghirardelli Sea Salt Soiree gluten-free. It contains no ingredients that have gluten.

Is Peppermint bark gluten-free?

Typically yes, peppermint bark is gluten free so long as it doesn’t include any add-ins that contain gluten.

Is Dove Chocolate Gluten-free?

Yes, all of dove chocolate is gluten free, except cookies and crème and cinnamon graham cookies in milk chocolate that includes ad-in ingredients to the chocolate.

Are Kit Kats Gluten-free?

No, Kit Kats are not gluten-free because of the wafer that is inside them. The wafer is made with wheat flour.

Can Celiacs Eat Chocolate?

Typically, celiacs can eat plain chocolate. Chocolate does not naturally contain gluten other than through add-in ingredients. Again, carefully read the label to make sure there is no gluten. If you’re considering chocolate that has another ingredient added into it, that can get a little trickier. Cookies and cream chocolate for example is not gluten free because of the addition of the cookie pieces.

Does Peppermint Bark Contain Nuts?

Our recipe for Peppermint Bark does not contain nuts. But if you like nuts, just add crushed nuts sprinkled to the top. Pecans, peanuts, walnuts, almonds or whatever your favorite nut is can make a great pairing with your peppermint bark.

Are Ghirardelli Melting Wafers Gluten-free?

Most melting wafers are made without gluten. But if you’re not sure, just read the ingredient label to confirm that none of the ingredients contain gluten.

How To Make Ghirardelli Peppermint Bark Collection Chocolate Squares

To make homemade Ghirardelli peppermint bark collection chocolate squares or bark, we’ve included the recipe below. We suggest using a double boiler pan which is a smaller pan holding the chocolate inside a larger pan that has water in the bottom.  

Ingredients

12 ounces good quality semisweet chocolate
1 ½ tsp peppermint extract – add to dark chocolate
1 pound good quality white chocolate
3 candy canes, crushed

Directions

1. Prepare a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.

2. In a double boiler pan, melt semisweet chocolate, add peppermint extract and stir until smooth.

3. Pour onto the prepared baking sheet. Let set for about 10 minutes, but not harden.

4. Melt white chocolate in a double boiler pan and stir until smooth. Pour over semi-sweet chocolate.

5. Add crushed candy canes on top of white chocolate right away. Tap pan on the counter to smooth the chocolate and remove any air bubbles.

6. Let sit until hardened. Cut or break into bark pieces. Serve and enjoy.  

10 Gluten-Free Chocolate Bar Brands

Not all chocolate bars are gluten free, but there are several brands that offer gluten free products. Here are some that are gluten-free:

Ghirardelli
Dove
Hershey’s
Nestle
Alter Eco
Dagoba Chocolate
Endangered Species
Enjoy Life
Scharffen Berger
Vosges Haut Chocolat
Wild Ophelia

Is caramel gluten-free?

Typically yes, caramel is gluten-free. It is made of butter, sugar and water. But be sure to read the ingredients to confirm it is gluten free, or make your own so that you know it is safe to consume if you require a gluten-free diet.   

Are Smarties Gluten-Free?

Yes, smarties are a naturally gluten-free candy.

Save to Pinterest!

ghirardellli peppermint bark pinterest pin

Follow us on Social Media

For more posts like this one, follow us on PinterestFacebookInstagram and YouTube.

Other Recipes You Might Like:

More Christmas Recipes

Easy Brach’s Christmas Nougats With Peppermint Gumdrop
The Best Christmas Tea Recipe
Reese’s Peanut Butter Christmas Trees Copycat Recipe
Homemade Stauffers Christmas Cookies: Copycat Recipe
The BEST Christmas Flavors
The BEST Christmas Coffee Cake Recipe
Amish Peanut Brittle Recipe

Leave a Comment

Recipe Rating