Is Soy Sauce Gluten Free

Share:

Most likely if you’ve come here, you’re searching to know about soy sauce and find the answer to is soy sauce gluten free. We’ve researched several aspects around soy sauce and want to share our findings with you to assist you in your meal planning for those who need gluten free options.

gluten free soy sauce
gluten free soy sauce

What Is Gluten?

Gluten is a family of protein found in grains such as wheat, barley, rye, and titicale. The protein helps foods to maintain their shapes and acts as the glue to hold it all together.

What Foods Contain Gluten?

There are a variety of foods that have the potential of containing gluten, perhaps more than would be expected. Following is a list of potential gluten containing foods according to the grain that the food is made from.  

Wheat is found in:
Breads
Cereal
Soups
Dressings
Pastas
Sauces
Baked goods

Barley is found in:
Soups
Beer
Malt, extract, flavoring, vinegar

Rye is found in:
Cereals
Rye bread
Rye beer

Titricale is found in:
Cereals
Breads
Pastas

gluten free soy sauce with egg rolls
gluten free soy sauce with egg rolls

What Is the Problem with Gluten?

Gluten can cause gastrointestinal problems in some people who don’t tolerate gluten as well.

And for those with Celiac disease, an auto-immune response, it can cause severe damage and debilitation leading to damage to the lining of intestines.

It’s possible for some to have gluten sensitivity without having Celiac disease.

Is Soy Sauce Gluten-Free?

The answer to is soy sauce gluten free, is it depends. Some brands are and some brands aren’t.

If soy sauce is made with wheat, it is not gluten free. However, there are several brands that are gluten free. We’ve outlined the details for you.  

gluten free soy sauce
gluten free soy sauce

Types of Soy Sauce

Did you know that there’s more than one type of soy sauce? Following are some of the more popular types.

Chinese Soy Sauce
Japanese Soy Sauce
Tamari Soy Sauce
Shiro Soy Sauce
Chemical Soy Sauce

How to Choose a Gluten-Free Soy Sauce

There are a couple of ways that you can choose a gluten free soy sauce. You can become an expert in reading labels and know what ingredients are okay to consume.

Or, the best way is to choose one that’s labeled gluten-free or one that’s certified gluten free. This way you’ll be guaranteed a safe outcome.

Gluten-Free Soy Sauce Alternatives

Some other ways to achieve that delightful umami flavor in your dishes can be to use a substitute for soy sauce. Here are some ideas for what to use in place of soy sauce.


Dried mushrooms
Worcestershire sauce
Fish sauce
Liquid aminos
Coconut aminos

gluten free soy sauce
gluten free soy sauce

Why is There Wheat in Soy Sauce?

Generally, soy sauce, unless processed specifically to be gluten free includes a 50/50 wheat soy content. It’s the way that it’s made.

Can You Eat Soy Sauce If You’re Gluten Free?

Yes, it’s possible that you can eat soy sauce even if you’re a gluten free eater. The key is to read the bottle labels and find one that is certified gluten free.

If your soy sauce is not certified gluten free, chances are that it will have traces of gluten from the wheat used to make the sauce.

Which Soy Sauce Brands Are Gluten-Free?

What soy sauces don’t have gluten? Below are some brands and varieties of gluten free soy sauce available in grocery stores. Be sure to look for labels that are certified gluten free.

Kikkoman Gluten-Free Soy Sauce

Kikkoman Tamari Soy Sauce

San-J Tamari Gluten-Free Soy Sauce

Oshawa Tamari Soy Sauce

La Bonne Gluten-Free Soy Sauce

Oceans Halo Sauce Soy Free Sauce

Ichibiki Gluten Free Japanese Soy Sauce

gluten free soy sauce
gluten free soy sauce

Does Kikkoman Soy Sauce Have Gluten?

Kikkoman gluten free soy sauce is perfect for those who have a gluten intolerance because it’s certified gluten free and is safe for those with celiac disease to eat.

The key that makes it gluten free it it’s made with rice instead of wheat and is not produced in a facility that processes wheat.

Where To Buy Gluten-Free Soy Sauce

Gluten free soy sauce can be purchased at a variety of local grocery stores such as Kroger, Walmart, Trader Joe’s, Aldi, Publix, Target, Costco, Sam’s Club. The key is to look for the brands that are certified gluten free.

Frequently Asked Questions

Following are frequently asked questions that relate to is soy sauce gluten free. If you have a question that’s not answered here, feel free to drop it to us in the comments box below and we’ll be happy to answer it.

Can you eat soy sauce if you’re gluten-free?

Is soy gluten free? Yes, you can eat soy sauce if you’re following the dietary restrictions of a gluten free diet. However, you’ll want to look for a brand that offers gluten free soy sauce.

Does Kikkoman soy sauce have gluten?

Kikkoman gluten free soy sauce is certified gluten free and is safe for those with celiac disease to eat. It’s made with rice instead of wheat and is not produced in a facility that processes wheat.

Why is soy not gluten-free?

Generally speaking, unless specially produced and certified gluten free, most soy sauce is made from crushed soybeans and wheat. It will naturally contain gluten from the wheat.

Can celiacs eat soy?

Yes, soy by itself is naturally gluten free. However, some soy products contain other products that add gluten to them. Be careful to read all ingredients before consuming a product that’s not certified gluten free, and contact the manufacturer if necessary.

Other Ideas:

Does Soy Sauce Need To Be Refrigerated?

What is Hoisin Sauce?

is soy sauce gluten free Pinterest Pin
is soy sauce gluten free Pinterest Pin

For more posts like this one, follow us on PinterestFacebookInstagram and YouTube.

Leave a Comment