Is Cream Cheese Gluten Free


Cream cheese is a delicious, creamy, and soft white cheese that’s spreadable and can be used on bagels, in various foods, and works well in dips. But is cream cheese gluten free?

is cream cheese gluten free
is cream cheese gluten free

That’s an important question for those requiring a gluten free diet. We’ll answer that question in detail along with other related frequently asked questions.

What is Cream Cheese?

Cream cheese is traditionally a mild, soft cheese that’s freshly made from milk and cream. Cream cheese is nearly white in color and its flavor is somewhat sweet and a slight tang.

Cream cheese has a variety of uses and can be served on warm bagels and breads as a spread. It can also be used to make dips and works well in a variety of dishes and sauces such as Alfredo sauce.

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a structural protein found in wheat and other grains such as barley, rye, and triticale. It helps foods to maintain their shape.

People with Celiac Disease have an immune reaction when eating gluten containing foods that can be potentially fatal.

cream cheese and tomato
cream cheese and tomato

What Are Gluten PPM Levels?

Gluten PPM stands for parts per million. It is a calculation based on how much gluten is present in foods.

The FDA says any item labeled gluten free has to contain fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten. That’s 0.0002%.

Is Cheese Gluten-Free?

Cheese that is plain, full fat cheese is typically gluten free. Cheese that’s not gluten free usually contains add-ins, has been processed, or contains artificial flavors or ingredients.

Is Mozzarella Cheese Gluten Free?

Traditionally, plain, full fat Mozzarella cheese is gluten free.

Cheese with Gluten

Plain full fat cheese, with no added ingredients is usually gluten free. However, processed cheese can contain gluten.

We recommend carefully reading the ingredient label before consuming any cheese to be sure that it meets your dietary restrictions.

Check for ingredients such as vinegar because malt vinegar contains gluten. But full fat that’s packaged by itself is usually gluten free.

Be careful of cream cheese that’s packaged with items such as crackers, breads, pretzels and other gluten containing ingredients.

cream cheese with herbs
cream cheese with herbs

Double-Check the Ingredient Label on:

There are some cheese and dairy related products that we recommend you double check the ingredient label. It’s not safe to assume that these products will always be gluten free.

powdered cheese

ricotta cheese

cottage cheese

string cheese

breaded cheese sticks

cheese sauce

diary free cheese

spray can cheese

processed cheese

cheese spreads

blue cheese

cheesecake and other baked goods

Ingredients Which Might Represent a Hidden Source of Gluten on a Label Include:

When is it not gluten free? Following are things to look out for in cream cheese on a gluten-free diet. You’ll likely want to avoid these ingredients.


wheat protein


food starch

artificial color

artificial flavor

natural color

natural flavor



vegetable gum




Is Philadelphia Cream Cheese Gluten-Free?

Some flavors of Philadelphia brand are gluten free. We always recommend reading the ingredient labels thoroughly, looking for gluten containing ingredients.

cream cheese sandwich
cream cheese sandwich

Flavor Variations

Following is a list of current flavor variations manufactured by Philadelphia brand cream cheese.

Philadelphia No Bake Cheesecake Filling
Philadelphia Whipped Original Cream Cheese
Philadelphia Original Cream Cheese
Philadelphia 1/3 Less Fat Cream Cheese
Philadelphia Strawberry Cream Cheese
Philadelphia Chive and Onion Cream Cheese
Philadelphia Garlic and Herb Cream Cheese
Philadelphia Whipped Chive Cream Cheese
Philadelphia Whipped Mixed Berry Cream Cheese
Philadelphia Crumbles Cheesecake Cream Cheese Philadelphia Salted Caramel Cheesecake
Philadelphia Strawberry Cheesecake Cups
Philadelphia Brown Sugar & Cinnamon Cream Cheese
Philadelphia Blueberry Cream Cheese
Philadelphia Jalapeno Cream Cheese
Philadelphia Garden Vegetable Cream Cheese
Philadelphia Smoked Salmon Cream Cheese
Philadelphia Honey Pecan Cream Cheese
Philadelphia Pumpkin Spice Cream Cheese
Philadelphia Jalapeno Pretzel Chips & Cream Cheese Dip
Philadelphia Strawberry Bagel Chips & Cream Cheese
Philadelphia Cherry Cheesecake Cups
Philadelphia Chive & Onion Bagel Chips & Cream Cheese Dip
Philadelphia Pineapple Cream Cheese
Philadelphia Honey Butter Cream Cheese
Philadelphia Crumbles Hazelnut
Philadelphia Whipped Buffalo Cream Cheese

Gluten Free Cream Cheese Brands

Prairie Farms Original Cream Cheese

Great Value Cream Cheese

Crystal Farms Original Cream Cheese

Daiya Foods Plant-based Cream Cheese

Lucerne Cream Cheese

Organic Valley Cream Cheese

Happy Farms Original Cream Cheese

Kite Hill Dairy-Free Cream Cheese Tofutti Vegan Cream Cheese

Sandwiches with melted cheese and herbs
Sandwiches with melted cheese and herbs

Is Cream Cheese Gluten-Free and Safe for People with Celiac Disease?

Cream cheese that’s gluten free is safe for people with Celiac disease. To determine whether it’s gluten free, you’ll want to begin by studying the packaging label.

Ask yourself is the product certified gluten free? If so, then you automatically know it’s safe to eat. If it’s not, you’ll want to continue reading the list of ingredients and watch for gluten containing ingredients such as the ones listed above.

Celiac Disease and Gluten Sensitivity

Those who have Celiac Disease or know someone with it realize just how serious it can be.

If a person with this disease eats even a crumb of gluten containing food, it could make them seriously ill or cost them their life. Gluten sensitivity and Celiac Disease is not something to be taken lightly.

Kraft-Heinz Gluten Labeling Information

According to their website, Kraft-Heinz indicates that they clearly label for all sources of gluten on their product packaging so that there is no question left in the mind of consumers.

What is Cream Cheese Made Of?

The ingredients used to make cream cheese can vary according to brand and flavors.

However, the basic ingredients used to make cream cheese are: milk, cream, salt, cheese whey, and stabilizers.

Is Cream Cheese Dairy Free?

No, cream cheese is not dairy free. It’s made from milk and cream which are both dairy products. If you require a dairy free diet, you’ll want to find an adequate dairy free substitute for cream cheese.

cream cheese and tomatoes
cream cheese and tomatoes

Recipes Using Cream Cheese

Following are some of our top recipes that use cream cheese.

Ultimate Strawberry Banana Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting
Paula Deen Cream Cheese Pound Cake
Smoked Cream Cheese Dip
Easy Crescent Roll Cream Cheese Danish

More Gluten Free Resources

Ghirardelli Peppermint Bark Gluten Free
Gluten Free Chocolate Cake
Gluten Free Rice Krispies
Is Pudding Gluten Free?

Frequently Asked Questions

Following are frequently asked questions that relate to is cream cheese gluten free. If you have a question that’s not answered here, feel free to drop it to us in the comments box below and we’ll be happy to answer it.

Is Happy Farms cream cheese gluten-free?

Is Aldi cream cheese gluten free? Yes, the Aldi brand of Happy Farms is naturally gluten free.

Is Lucerne cream cheese gluten free?

Yes, using Lucerne brand gives you a gluten free option for cream cheese.

Is Crystal Farms cream cheese gluten free?

Yes, Crystal Farms brand uses gluten free ingredients.

Is Organic Valley cream cheese gluten free?

Yes, Organic Valley cream cheese is made with non-gluten containing ingredients.

Is Great Value cream cheese gluten free?

Most flavors of Walmart’s Great Value brand are gluten free. Be sure to check the packaging for individual flavors to be sure that your specific flavor is gluten friendly.

Is Good & Gather cream cheese gluten free?

Yes, Good & Gather brand is gluten free, but we always recommend you check the ingredient list to be sure that it meets your specific dietary restrictions.

Is Kroger cream cheese gluten free?

Yes, plain Kroger brand is gluten free.

Is spreadable cream cheese gluten free?

Many flavors of spreadable varieties are gluten free. Check the ingredient label for your specific brand and flavor and watch for gluten containing ingredients.

Is sour cream gluten free?

Yes, sour cream, whether full fat or low fat, is gluten free.

Save to Pinterest:

is cream cheese gluten free Pinterest Pin
is cream cheese gluten free Pinterest Pin

For more posts like this one, follow us on PinterestFacebookInstagram and YouTube.

Photo of author
Sarah is known for her extra fancy yeast breads, melt in your mouth pies, and everything salads. She has won awards as a home cook, and is passionate about helping others feel smarter in the kitchen. Sarah is the cooking genius of the sister duo.

Leave a Comment