Is Cool Whip Dairy-Free Whipped Topping


Is Cool Whip Dairy Free

Today we’re going to take a look at different Cool Whip products and discover, is cool whip dairy free? Cool Whip is typically an alternative for whipped cream and can be used as a whipped topping in a variety of ways and included in other types of recipes as well. If you have special dietary restrictions, it’s important to know if you are OK to eat Cool Whip, or if it contains dairy.

cool whip and strawberry
cool whip and strawberry

Dairy-Free Dietary Concerns

Sometimes taking a walk down the aisles at grocery stores can be intimidating. Determining if different foods contain dairy, or if they are dairy free can also be confusing at times. 

Perhaps you’re on a vegan diet, have a milk protein allergy, or are on a lactose-free diet due to lactose intolerance. No matter why you’re needing to know if Cool Whip is dairy free or not, if you fall in any of these categories the answer is very important to your health.

Using Cool Whip as an Alternative

Often times Cool Whip is used as an alternative to traditional whipped cream. Since whipped cream is made from heavy whipping cream or heavy cream combined with vanilla extract to make real whipped cream, you might think of Cool Whip is being a whipped cream substitute. 

Obviously, ice cream has dairy in it, and so does heavy cream, but you may not be sure about Cool Whip, or other whipped toppings like Cool Whip.

Cool Whip can be so delicious and used in a variety of ways. The creamy texture makes it quite versatile, and because it is stabilized it lasts a lot longer than homemade whipped cream.

But let’s look at what Cool Whip is made out of, to see if it is dairy-free, or if it contains dairy products.

Original Cool Whip Main Ingredients

The main ingredients listed on the original package of Cool Whip are as follows: water, corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated vegetable oil (coconut and palm kernel oils, skim milk, contains less than 2% of light cream, sodium caseinate (from milk), natural and artificial flavor, xanthan and guar gums, modified food starch, polysorbate 60, sorbitan monostearate, sodium polyphosphate, beta carotene (color). 

Is Cool Whip a Dairy-Free Product?

The answer is, no. Cool Whip is not dairy free. In fact, Cool Whip contains several ingredients which are a milk derivative.

Dairy Ingredients

There are a few different dairy products listed in the Cool Whip ingredients. Those ingredients include skim milk, light cream, and sodium caseinate which is from milk. Because of these ingredients included in Cool Whip, it is not dairy-free, and it does contain milk.

cool whip in a jar

Dairy-Free Alternative Options

The good news is that there are several different cream alternatives that have become available to buy at grocery stores in recent years. You can use these alternatives as Cool Whip substitutes and still enjoy delicious desserts, or the fluffy texture that Cool Whip has, at a relatively decent price point.

Let’s look at some of the different cream options that you might be able to use instead of Cool Whip. Keep in mind that the best substitute will depend on your specific dietary needs, and also how you intend to use the Cool Whip alternative.

As far as traditional milk alternatives, usually almond milk, soy milk, or oat milk are your best and most cost-effective alternatives. But when it comes to Cool Whip or other whipped toppings, the best alternatives are coconut-based.

Coconut-Based Dairy-Free Whipped Toppings

When it comes to a coconut-based dairy-free option, there are several different options for whipped toppings. 

Whipped Coconut Products

There are several different coconut-based substitutes that make great alternatives to Cool Whip varieties. It comes down to what you’re looking for though. Some alternative varieties of Cool Whip are delicious Coco whip. Coco whip comes in a variety of options, that can fit your dietary needs. This is a very close substitute for Cool Whip. 

Another good substitute, depending on how you intend to use it is coconut-based Redi whip. This is the kind of squirt whip cream, made from coconut milk.

There are also cream recipes where you can use coconut cream, such as full-fat coconut milk, to make your own whipped cream using coconut and your sweetener of choice. This is a good alternative if you don’t mind making your own whipped topping.

For dairy-free substitutes to Cool Whip, these are the most common alternatives, but there are typically new options available at large grocery stores, on a regular basis.

Some grocery stores are better than others at providing alternatives to dairy-based products. You will want to make sure to look for the dairy-free or that the product does not contain milk, before purchasing.

strawberries and cool whip
strawberries and cool whip

Vegan Cool Whip

If you’re looking for other vegan alternatives to Cool Whip, you might consider taking a walk down the aisles at Trader Joe’s, to see what other options they have available. Sometimes, your local grocery store will carry other good vegan options as well.

Is cool whip dairy-free?

In short, Cool Whip is not dairy free. Cool Whip contains several ingredients that are milk products. 

Is cool whip vegan?

No, Cool Whip is not vegan, because it does contain some milk products in the ingredient list, which are animal products. Making the fluffy topping not fit the vegan diet. 

Whipped Topping

No matter if you’re looking for a vegan-friendly whipped topping, or dairy-free option due to a lactose intolerance or dairy allergy, Cool Whip is not dairy free and does contain several milk ingredients. You can tell that it does contain milk, simply by looking at the ingredient list.

Even though Cool Whip is not dairy free, because of the few milk products listed in the ingredients, there are other options available at the grocery store, that are dairy-free or vegan options.

If you have a milk allergy, you will want to seek an alternative whipped topping option. A good go-to is to look for some coconut-based whipped topping, as there are several options available.

Thank you so much for stopping by to learn; is Cool Whip dairy free? Now that you know that Cool Whip is not dairy free, you can begin seeking an alternative whipped topping option that will fit your dietary needs. I hope that this has been very helpful to you, and perhaps you have a few ideas of places to start to look for a good substitute option.

I hope you have a wonderful day! 

spoon with cool whip
spoon with cool whip

You might also be interested in; is cool whip gluten-free. Be sure to learn more by checking out this article! 

For more posts like this one, follow us on PinterestFacebookInstagram and YouTube.

PIN for Later!

is cool whip dairy free
Photo of author
Faith is the resident baking expert of this sister duo, and first started baking at age ten when she learned to make chocolate chip cookies on her own. From there she went on to have her own night of the week to make dinner for the whole family. She is excited to share amazing recipes and a love of food, and help you become kitchen smart!

Leave a Comment