Gluten Free Rice Krispies


Gluten Free Rice Krispies

Gluten Free Rice Krispies can be found in cereal form and treat form, but it is important to know what brands sell these, and where they can be purchased. We are going to go over several different brands that sell gluten-free rice crispy cereal, and include a recipe for how you can easily make homemade gluten-free rice crispy treats. You don’t want to miss out on this! 

rice krispy treat tower

Are Rice Krispies Gluten Free?

When it comes to rice crispy treats cereal, one of the most common questions is are they gluten-free? You would think they would be because they are made with rice after all and not many complicated or glutenous ingredients… Or so you would think.

Unfortunately, Rice Krispies are glutenous, due to the malt syrup they contain which comes from barley which does contain gluten, making them most definitely not gluten free. 

Another way you can tell if they are gluten-free or not is by examining the package and its ingredients. Sometimes even though the ingredients may not say that it contains anything with wheat, the food may have been processed at a plant that also handles glutinous food, and could have contaminated the gluten-free food, making it not able to be labeled as gluten free. 

Depending on why you are looking for gluten-free food, and what your health needs are, it is very important to pay attention to the ingredients as well as the gluten-free label on foods to determine if they are legitimately gluten-free or not.

Are Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Treats Gluten Free?

What about the delicious Rice Krispy treats from Kellogg’s, are these gluten free? Sadly, these also are not gluten free either. No matter if you’re looking at the Rice Krispy cereal or the pre-made Rice Krispy treats, neither one is gluten free. 

kellogs rice krispy treats

However, there are some gluten free Rice Krispy cereals on the market, that you can pick up at your local grocery store. Let’s look at what these options are below. 

At one point Kellogg’s did make a special gluten-free box of Rice Krispy cereal that they sold in various ways. However, they have recently discontinued this product and no longer sell gluten-free Rice Krispies. 

Kellogs rice krispy cereal box

What Brands Of Rice Krispies Are Actually Gluten-Free?

Even though Kellogg’s Rice Krispy cereal is not gluten-free, there are several different options still available that you are likely to be able to pick up at your local grocery store or order online for rice crispy cereal that is gluten-free. 

Aldi Crispy Rice Cereal

Our personal favorite is all these versions of Rice Krispy cereal. Currently, Aldi is making it so that it is naturally gluten free and you are able to pick it up for a reasonable price.

This Rice Krispy cereal is all these store brand, and it is gluten-free. You can enjoy this cereal for a reasonable cost and enjoy it for cereal or make it into your delicious treats. So if you have an Aldi near you, this is a great place to pick up some gluten free cereal! 

Aldi crispy rice cereal

Melville Rice Krispies Cereal Ingredients

The main ingredients of Melville Rice Krispies include: rice, sugar, corn syrup, and salt. Other vitamins and minerals includes: ferric orthophosphate (source of iron), sodium ascorbate (vitamin C), Niacinamide (vitamin B3), zinc oxide (source of zinc), folic acid, riboflavin (vitamin B2), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Vitamin A Palmitate, Thiamin Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3. 

Nature’s Path Crispy Rice Cereal

Nature’s Path Crispy Rice is another great gluten-free option that also happens to be organic. This cereal is made from whole-grain brown rice, which makes it slightly darker and color naturally.

This cereal may be a little bit more difficult to find at your local grocery store, although some, like Kroger, do carry it. However, if you can’t find it at a store near you, you could also order it online. 

Nature’s Path Rice Krispies Cereal Ingredients

Nature’s Path Rice Krispies cereal ingredients include: Brown rice flour*, cane sugar*, sea salt, and molasses*. *Organic. Produced in a facility that uses peanuts, tree nuts, and soy.

Barbara’s Organic Crisp Rice Cereal

Barbara’s Organic Crisp Rice Cereal is another fabulous gluten-free option for Rice Krispies. This cereal is made with organic brown rice that has popped into Krispies. It can be purchased at grocery stores such as Walmart or Kroger, and it can also be ordered online. 

Barbara’s Organic Rice Krispies Cereal Ingredients

Barbara’s Organic Rice Krispies cereal ingredients include: Organic whole grain brown rice, organic cane sugar, and sea salt. 

One Degree Sprouted Brown Rice Crisps

One Degree Sprouted Brown Rice Crisps are another gluten-free and organic cereal option. You may be able to pick up a box of this cereal at Walmart, other locations you are likely to find this cereal is our Whole Foods Market, or fresh thyme market. You can also order the cereal online. 

One Degree Rice Krispies Cereal Ingredients

One Degree ingredients include: Organic sprouted whole grain brown rice, organic coconut sugar, unrefined salt, tocopherols (vitamin E). Produced in a facility that uses soy, nuts, and dairy. 

One Degree Sprouted Brown Rice Cacao Crisps

One Degree Sprouted Brown Rice Cacao Crisps is a chocolate version of the organic and gluten-free Rice Krispy cereal. This chocolate cereal is made with raw cacao, and makes a fabulous option if you prefer chocolate Krispies.

Although the cereal may be difficult to find in a store unless you go to a store such as Whole Foods, fresh thyme market, or maybe Walmart in some locations. You can order the cereal online if you are unable to find it in the store. 

Rice Krispy treat s'more top down

One Degree Rice Krispies Cereal Ingredients

One Degree ingredients include: Organic sprouted brown rice, organic coconut palm sugar, organic cacao, organic sunflower oil, organic sunflower lecithin, unrefined salt, tocopherols (vitamin E). Produced in a facility that uses soy, tree nuts, wheat, and dairy. 

All the above types of cereal listed are great gluten-free options. All of them except for Melville (Aldi brand), our organic cereals. If you prefer to not pay for the organic, then the Aldi brand makes a great gluten-free option. 


Are Marshmallows Gluten-Free?

When purchasing marshmallows, it is important to check the label to be sure they are gluten-free. Typically, in the United States, they are made with corn starch which will make them gluten-free.

However, marshmallows may be processed in a facility where there is gluten, so be sure to read the label to determine if your marshmallows are okay for you to eat or not. 

Is Great Value Rice Krispy cereal gluten-free?

Walmart brand Great Value Rice Krispy cereal although technically are not gluten-free, as they are not labeled as such, does not appear to contain any wheat products. Great-Value Rice Krispy cereal is made with rice, sugar, corn syrup, and salt. 

Walmart rice krispies

However, because Great Value Rice Krispy cereal is not labeled as gluten-free likely means that the cereal has been processed in a facility where there are other wheat products, and so they may be contaminated.

If you have health concerns regarding glutenous products, you will not want to eat this cereal. 

rice krispy treats top down

Gluten Free Rice Krispies Recipe

Ingredients You’ll Need

Rice Krispies Treat Cereal. You use any of the above gluten-free Rice Krispy cereal, however, our favorite is Aldi because it is so very simply priced. 

Marshmallows. We like to use mini marshmallows, however, any type of gluten-free marshmallows will work. Be sure to read the label to determine if they are safe for you to eat. 

Butter. You can use either unsalted or salted butter for this recipe. Our favorite is to use salted butter, but you can use either one. 

Sea salt. Adding a pinch of sea salt to your Rice Krispy treats will help to enhance overall flavor, and make an utterly delicious. 

Vanilla Extract. We also recommend that you include vanilla extract or flavoring for your gluten-free Rice Krispy treats. 

Toppings. What happens on your gluten-free Rice Krispy treats are optional, but you could top your treats with melted chocolate, peanut butter, or gluten-free sprinkles. 

Rice Krispy treats Melville cereal

How to Make Gluten-Free Rice Krispies Treats

Step 1: Melt Butter and Marshmallows

Begin by taking a large, thick pan and placing it over medium heat. Melt your butter, then add marshmallows and melt. Stir continually until they are melting. 

Step 2: Add Cereal

Once melted, add your Rice Krispy cereal, vanilla extract, and a pinch of sea salt. Stir until your Rice Krispy cereal is completely covered in the marshmallow and butter mixture. 

Step 3: Place into the Baking Pan

Lightly grease a 9 x 13 baking dish. Pour your prepared Rice Krispy mixture into the pan. Now, take a piece of wax paper, and press down on the top of your Rice Krispies through the wax paper. This will allow you to smooth out the Rice Krispy treats in the pan, packing them together, without getting your hands all sticky. 

Step 4: Rice Krispy Toppings (Optional)

If desired, add any toppings you wish to your packed Rice Krispy treats. Allow the Rice Krispy treats to set and cool off. Then serve and enjoy! 

How To Store Rice Krispie Treats

Rice Krispy treats are best stored in an airtight container. They can be left at room temperature or stored in your refrigerator. We prefer to store the prepared gluten-free Rice Krispy in an air-tight container, at room temperature for up to one week. 

Rice Krispies Gluten Free

Although Rice Krispy treats and Kellogg’s Rice Krispy cereal are not gluten-free, there are a few different varieties available for purchase that are gluten-free.

You can also make your own homemade gluten-free Rice Krispy treats very easily following our simple recipe. 

Now, go find some gluten-free Rice Krispy cereal, and try making your own gluten-free Rice Krispy treats using our delicious recipe. We hope you enjoy it! 

For more posts like this one, follow us on PinterestFacebookInstagram and YouTube.

Save for Later

Gluten Free Rice Krispies pinterest

Gluten-Free Rice Krispies Recipe:

Fun Fact!

When I went to Aldi to pick up the cereal to make these treats, I found that my Aldi is currently selling gluten free rice Krispy treats. So you can buy ready made gluten free treats if you want.

Millville rice krispy treats
Photo of author
Faith is the resident baking expert of this sister duo, and first started baking at age ten when she learned to make chocolate chip cookies on her own. From there she went on to have her own night of the week to make dinner for the whole family. She is excited to share amazing recipes and a love of food, and help you become kitchen smart!

Leave a Comment

Recipe Rating