Are Thin Mints Vegan

Share:

Likely at one time or another you’ve heard about or have tried Girl Scout cookies, specifically, Thin Mints. But are thin mints vegan?

The Girl Scout Cookie program is a clever program that exists to help girls learn important life lessons and help them be a successful part of the business world.

girl scout cookies
girl scout cookies

The cookie program is beneficial because it’s a tool to help girls learn business and financial skills and earn money to fund their goals for Girl Scouts. Perhaps you’ve had a Girl Scout approach you about buying cookies.

What Girl Scout Cookies are Vegan?

If you’re on a vegan diet, you’ll want to know which cookies are vegan friendly, and there are several. Currently, the following varieties made by ABC Bakers and Little Brownie Baker are made with vegan ingredients.

Thin Mints

Lemonades

Toast- Yay

Peanut Butter Patties

Girl Scout S’mores

Thanks A Lots

girl scout thin mints
girl scout thin mints

Are Thin Mints Plant-Based?

You might agree that Girl Scout cookies are some of the best thin mint cookies. Let’s take a look at the ingredients. We believe you’ll be delighted that they’ll go great with a vegan diet.

Ingredients in Thin Mints by Little Brownie Baker

According to their website, the following ingredients are contained in thin mints made by Little Brownie Baker. You’ll gladly notice the note that they’re made with vegan ingredients.

thin mint cookies
thin mint cookies

Enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, vitamin B1 [thiamin mononitrate], vitamin B2 [riboflavin], folic acid), sugar, vegetable oil (palm kernel, palm and soybean oil), cocoa, caramel color, contains 2% or less of cocoa processed with alkali, invert sugar, leavening (baking soda, monocalcium phosphate), cornstarch, salt, sorbitan tristearate, soy lecithin, natural and artificial flavors, oil of peppermint.

Allergy information:
Contains wheat and soy ingredients.

Manufactured in a shared facility with peanuts, tree nuts, milk & egg.

Made with vegan ingredients.

Made in a facility that handles non-vegan ingredients.

Ingredients in Thin Mints by ABC Bakers

According to their website, the following ingredients are contained in thin mints made by ABC Bakers.

Enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid) sugar, vegetable oil shortening (palm and palm kernel oils), cocoa (processed with alkali), caramel color, invert sugar, salt, baking soda, soy lecithin, peppermint oil, natural and artificial flavor.

Allergy information:
Made with all-vegan ingredients.

Contains: wheat, Soy.

Manufactured in a shared facility with: Milk, Peanuts, Coconut.

What About The ‘Copies’ of Thin Mints by Other Brands?

thin mints broken
thin mints broken

If you’re wanting to know whether other brands of thin mints are vegan friendly, you’ll want to read the packing, consult their website, or contact the company. 

We’ve only researched Girl Scout Cookies made by ABC Bakers and Little Brownie Bakers for this purpose.

Other brands may contain dairy, or animal derived ingredients making them outside of dietary restrictions for dairy free and vegan eaters.

Is There Dairy in Thin Mints?

Are thin mints dairy free? Yes, Girl Scout thin mints made by both ABC Bakers and Little Brownie Baker are dairy free, so they can be eaten by both dairy free eaters as well as vegan friendly eaters.

However, they could potentially be made in a factory that handles dairy, which is disclosed on the Little Brownie Baker website as well as the ABC Bakers website.

When Did Thin Mints Become Vegan?

Girl Scouts started selling thin mints for fund raising purposes about 1951. At that time, the cookies included dairy to make the cookie nice and soft. It was more a chewy, bakery like cookie.

Then, in 2015 the Girl Scout thin mints recipe was changed to exclude dairy. This is when the recipe also became vegan friendly, and the ingredients were altered to create a thin, crisp cookie.

thin mints cookies
thin mints cookies

Frequently Asked Questions

Following are frequently asked questions that relate to are thin mints vegan. If you have a question that’s not answered here, feel free to drop it to us in the comments box below and we’ll be happy to answer it.

Are thin mints dairy free?

Yes, Girl Scout thin mint cookies made by Little Brownie Baker or ABC Bakers are dairy free.

Are Girl Scout thin mints vegan?

Yes, Girl Scout thin mint cookies made by Little Brownie Baker or ABC Bakers are vegan friendly.

girl scout mints
girl scout mints

Are any of the Girl Scout cookies vegan?

Yes, Thin Mints, Lemonades, Toast- Yay, Peanut Butter Patties, Girl Scout S’mores, and Thanks A Lots Girl Scout Cookies made by Little Brownie Baker or ABC Bakers are vegan friendly.

When did thin mints become vegan?

In 2015, the recipe for thin mints was changed and became non-dairy, which also made it vegan.

Save to Pinterest:

are thin mints vegan Pinterest Pin
are thin mints vegan Pinterest Pin

For more posts like this one, follow us on PinterestFacebookInstagram and YouTube.

Leave a Comment