Are Starburst Vegan? After a careful analysis of the ingredients used to make Starburst, we think you’ll agree with us that the answer is no. Starburst candy that’s made in the United States contains animal products, making them not vegan-friendly. Let’s look at the details.
What Are Starburst?
Starburst are bite sized chewy candies that are square shaped and traditionally come in fruity flavors that are individually wrapped.
Starburst have expanded their candy line to include jellybeans, gummies, minis, gum, plant-based, and duos, along with the original chews.
What Are Starburst Made From?
Starburst Candy Ingredients in the original chews are as follows:
INGREDIENTS: SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, HYDROGENATED PALM KERNEL OIL; LESS THAN 2% OF: CITRIC ACID, TAPIOCA DEXTRIN, GELATIN, APPLE JUICE FROM CONCENTRATE, MODIFIED CORN STARCH, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, COLORS (RED 40, YELLOW 5, YELLOW 6, BLUE 1).
Are Starbursts Vegan Friendly?
No, Starburst candy isn’t vegan friendly. They include ingredients that are derived from animals, therefore eliminating them from a vegan friendly diet.
Sugar, palm oil, gelatin, and artificial colors and flavors are the ingredients that aren’t vegan friendly.
We’ll describe in detail the specifics of why these ingredients disqualify Starburst candy from a vegan diet below.
There are three ingredients that tend to be somewhat controversial among vegan eaters that are contained in Starburst candy.
Strict vegan diets eliminate ingredients such as, palm fat, glucose syrup, and sugar, while other casual vegan eaters allow them.
Other Common Animal Products Found in Candies
If you’re new to a vegan diet or are researching various animal products found in candies, this list will come in handy for you.
Here are the common animal products to watch for in candies.
Refined Sugar. Refined sugar is traditionally processed with bone char to make it pure white.
Lard. Lard is of course an animal product, which is in essence fat.
Gelatin. Gelatin is traditionally made from animal skin, tendon, ligament, and bones.
Carmine. Is made from beetles and is used in some artificial colors.
E 904, E 120, 901, 904, 542. All of these come from animals.
Do All Starburst Products Have Gelatin?
Many of the varieties of Starburst candy that are made in the United States contain gelatin.
The exception to this are Starburst minis and Starburst swirlers that aren’t made with gelatin.
Are Starburst Minis Vegan?
No, Starburst Minis aren’t vegan. Their ingredient list includes, sugar, palm oil, confectioner’s glaze, artificial colors and flavors, which are all considered non-vegan friendly ingredients.
Here is the full ingredient list for Starburst Minis:
INGREDIENTS: SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, PALM OIL; LESS THAN 2% OF: CITRIC ACID, SODIUM CITRATE, PECTIN, APPLE JUICE FROM CONCENTRATE, MONO- AND DIGLYCERIDES, CONFECTIONER’S GLAZE, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, COLORS (YELLOW 6, RED 40, YELLOW 5, BLUE 1), CARNAUBA WAX.
Are Starburst Gummies Vegan?
Starburst Gummies are not vegan. Their ingredient list includes, sugar, gelatin, and artificial colors and flavors.
Here is the full ingredient list for Starburst Gummies Sours:
INGREDIENTS: CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, MODIFIED CORN STARCH, WATER, GELATIN, FUMARIC ACID; LESS THAN 2% OF: LACTIC ACID, CITRIC ACID, CALCIUM LACTATE, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, COLORS (RED 40, YELLOW 5, BLUE 1).
Is Starburst Gum Vegan?
No, Starburst gum is not vegan because it contains artificial colors that are potentially tested on animals.
Here is the full ingredient list for Starburst Gum:
INGREDIENTS: XYLITOL, GUM BASE; LESS THAN 2% OF: NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, ACACIA, CITRIC ACID, SOY LECITHIN, SORBITOL, ASPARTAME, MALIC ACID, MANNITOL, ACESULFAME K, CARNUABA WAX, SUCRALOSE, FUMARIC ACID, BHT (TO MAINTAIN FRESHNESS), COLORING (INCLUDES RED 40 LAKE).
Are Starburst Jellybeans Vegan?
No, Starburst jellybeans are not vegan. They contain beeswax, making them a non-vegan friendly food.
Here is the full ingredient list for Starburst Jellybeans:
INGREDIENTS: SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, MODIFIED CORN STARCH; LESS THAN 2% OF: CITRIC ACID, ACACIA, APPLE JUICE FROM CONCENTRATE, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, SODIUM CITRATE, CARNAUBA WAX, COLORS (YELLOW 5, RED 40, YELLOW 6, BLUE 1, TITANIUM DIOXIDE),Â MINERAL OIL, BEESWAX.
DIY Homemade Starbursts
There are many recipes on the web for DIY homemade starbursts. Though we’ve never made them, you might like to give them a try.
More Vegan Candy Guides
Here is another vegan candy guide that we wrote answering the question whether Sour Patch Kids are vegan.
Vegan Alternatives to Starburst
Here’s a list of a few vegan alternatives to Starburst candy. The great thing is they are flavorful and made with health-conscious ingredients.
YumEarth Organic Chewys
Lovely Organic Chewy Candies
Torie & Howard Chewie Fruities
Is Starburst Finally Launching Its First Vegan Gummy Candy in the US?
In 2021 Starburst launched its first plant-based gummy and the packaging is labeled as such. They’re packaged in the classic flavors of strawberry, cherry, lemon, and orange.
The main difference between the new line of plant-based gummies and the previously existing line is that the vegan friendly version doesn’t contain gelatin.
Non-Vegan Ingredients in Starburst
Following is a list of non-vegan ingredients that can be found in Starburst that are manufactured in the United States.
There is gelatin used to make Starburst candy. And gelatin traditionally is made from animal skin, tendon, ligament, and bones.
Confectioner’s glaze used in Starburst is generally made from insect secretions.
Beeswax, made by bees, is a non-vegan ingredient used in Starburst candy.
White granulated sugar, potentially involves processing with the use of bone char.
Natural flavors are known to be tested on animals, which would make the product so that it’s not vegan friendly.
The same is true with artificial colors. They are sometimes tested on animals, making the product unsuitable for a vegan diet.
Frequently Asked Questions
Following are frequently asked questions that relate to are starburst vegan. If you have a question that’s not answered here, feel free to drop it to us in the comments box below and we’ll be happy to answer it.
What animal gelatin is in Starburst?
Starburst is thought to contain beef gelatin.
Are Starburst dairy-free?
Yes, Starburst do not include dairy ingredients. They’re dairy free.
Does Starburst have gelatin?
Yes, Starburst made in the United States contain gelatin.
Are Starburst vegan in the U.K.?
Interestingly, Starburst that are made in the U.K. are vegan because they don’t contain gelatin.
What type of gelatin is in Starburst?
The gelatin used in Starburst is thought to be derived from beef.
Are Starburst vegetarian?
Starburst contain gelatin and confectioner’s glaze, so whether they’re vegetarian depends on one’s stance.
Are Starburst gluten free?
Yes, Starburst are gluten free.
Are Starburst Jellybeans gluten free?
Yes, Starburst jellybeans don’t have any gluten containing ingredients.
What are Starburst wrappers made of?
Starbucks wrappers are made of non-toxic wax paper. They’re not intended to be edible.
Are Starburst wrappers edible?
Starburst wrappers are not intended to be edible.
Save to Pinterest:
For more posts like this one, follow us on Pinterest, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.