Are Ramen Noodles Vegan


Are ramen noodles vegan? Yes, the noodles alone are made of flour and water which makes them vegan. However, the flavor packets is where it gets tricky. Some brands include vegan flavor packets, while others do not. We’ll outline the details for you.

are ramen noodles vegan
are ramen noodles vegan

What Is Ramen?

Ramen noodles are a soft, thin noodle that are served with a rich broth. They’re a Japanese favorite and can also include other toppings such as vegetables or bits of meat.

Vegetarian Ramen Noodle Brands

Following are a few of the more popular brands of ramen noodles that qualify as vegetarian.

Top Ramen Soy Sauce Flavor (their original)
Top Ramen Chili Flavor (the green and black one)
Soken Brand Ramen
Dr. McDougall’s Ramen Noodle Cups

We recommend reading all packaging ingredient labels before determining whether your ramen noodles are safe for consumption for a vegan diet.

chopsticks with ramen
chopsticks with ramen

How Are Ramen Noodles Made? 

Ramen noodles are traditionally made of wheat flour, salt, and water. This excludes the flavor packets.

Yes, ramen noodles alone are vegan traditionally. Flavor packets might or might not be vegan depending on the ingredients.

Homemade vs. Instant Ramen Noodles

The difference between homemade and instant ramen noodles can lie in the ingredients. If you or those who gather around your table require ingredients that are not found in store bought ramen noodles, then perhaps making them homemade will give you an opportunity to enjoy the dish.

Are Instant Ramen Noodles Vegan?

Yes, instant ramen noodles are vegan friendly.  They contain flour and don’t include any animal ingredients. 

Though the noodles are vegan friendly, many of the flavor packets are not. Read the ingredients beforehand to find out.  Traditional ramen noodle soup is NOT vegan.

ramen noodles close up
ramen noodles close up

Delicious Plant-Based Ramen Toppings

There are so many delicious plant-based ramen toppings that can be included on your noodles.  Here are a few ideas to get you started:

green onions
bean sprouts
sesame seeds

The fun part of making ramen at home is that you can custom make it according to your flavor preferences and to your own liking with as many or as few plant-based toppings as you’d like.

What Flavors of Maruchan Ramen are Vegan?

According to our research, there are no flavors of Maruchan ramen noodles that are vegan.

Every flavor packet consists of either animal derived ingredients or dairy products. Maruchan flavor packets should be avoided for a vegan-friendly diet.  

vegan ramen noodles
vegan ramen noodles

How to Make Vegan Ramen

Following are our step by step instructions for how to make vegan-friendly ramen noodles.


2 packages Ramen noodles
2 cloves Garlic
½ tsp Ginger
2 Green onions, finely chopped
16 oz Vegetable stock
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 ½ tbsp miso paste


Peel and crush the garlic cloves. Add to a saucepan with ginger, soy sauce, miso paste, and stock. Bring to a simmer.

Add noodles and cook until tender.

Top with green onions, and any other desired toppings. Serve and enjoy.

ramen noodles
ramen noodles

Frequently Asked Questions

Following are frequently asked questions that relate to are ramen noodles vegan. If you have a question that’s not answered here, please feel free to drop it to us in the comments box below and we’ll be happy to answer it.

Is Maruchan ramen vegan?

The noodles alone are vegan, however adding the flavor packet would make them no longer qualify as a vegan-friendly food.  

Are Maruchan ramen noodles vegan without the seasoning?

Yes, if you simply eat the noodles without adding the enclosed seasoning packet, they would be a vegan-friendly food.

Is Top ramen vegan?

The following flavors made by Nissin Top ramen are vegan.

Nissin Top Ramen Soy Sauce (Oriental) Flavor
Nissin Top Ramen Chili Flavor
Cup Noodles Stir Fry Sweet Chili
Cup Noodles Very Veggie Soy Sauce (Oriental) Flavor

Is Oriental ramen vegan?

According to our research, some brands of oriental flavored ramen noodles are vegetarian. Be sure to check the packaging ingredients to be sure than no animal products are included.

Is Samyang ramen vegan?

The noodles themselves are vegan, however various flavoring packets potentially contain animal products, making that portion not conducive for a vegan-friendly diet.

Is Shin ramen vegan?

According to the ingredients listed on the package, Shin ramen noodles are vegan.

Does Maruchan ramen have dairy?

No, ramen noodles don’t include dairy, unless dairy is added by the home cook after the package is opened. 


What is miso paste
How to prep enoki mushrooms
Is popcorn vegan?
Is Greek yogurt vegan?

are ramen noodles vegan Pinterest Pin
are ramen noodles vegan Pinterest Pin

For more posts like this one, follow us on PinterestFacebookInstagram and YouTube.

Photo of author
Sarah is known for her extra fancy yeast breads, melt in your mouth pies, and everything salads. She has won awards as a home cook, and is passionate about helping others feel smarter in the kitchen. Sarah is the cooking genius of the sister duo.

Leave a Comment

Recipe Rating